Question: Explain the Embedded system design life cycle/ development methodology.

Subject : Embedded Systems Design

Topic : Fundamentals of Embedded Systems

Difficulty level : High

mumbai university esd(47) • 1.8k views
modified 11 months ago  • written 11 months ago by gravatar for Hetal Gosavi Hetal Gosavi70

The life cycle is referred as models. A typical simple product contains 5 phases-

  • Requirement analysis

  • Design

  • Development and test

  • Deployment

  • Maintenance

The embedded product life cycle model contains phases as follows-

i) Need:

The embedded product is an output of ‘Need” from an individual/ public/ company. Based on the need a proposal is prepared, reviewed by seniors, approved and then the product goes to product development team.

The types of need could be as follows

  • New or custom product development: Need for product which does not exist or as a competitor for an existing product.

  • Product re-engineering: The market is dynamic and competitive. Therefore there is always a need of making changes in an existing product design and launching its new version. Product re-engineering includes Product maintenance (technical support to end user), Corrective maintenance (corrective action following a failure) and Preventive maintenance (scheduled maintenance to avoid failure)

ii) Conceptualization:

It is a product development phase which begins after approval. In this stage the following tasks are performed:

  • Feasibility study: It is the careful examination of need and it suggests solutions to build product.

  • Cost Benefit analysis: This analysis involves identifying total development cost and profits expected.

  • Product scope: This means knowing what is in the scope and not in the scope for the product.

  • Planning activities: This covers various plans required for product development.

iii) Analysis:

This stage starts after the conceptualization phase is approved by the client. It concentrates on developing functional model of product. The product is defined in detail with respect to input, process and output. This stage determines the function performed by product.

  • Analysis and documentation: This phase analyzes business needs and purpose of product. It also addresses various functional aspects and quality attributes.

  • Interface definition and documentation: This defines interface between product and other parts of systems.

  • Defining Test plan and procedure: This defines the tests to be performed and what should be included in the test. Some tests that are carried out are- Unit testing (unit/ module level), Integration testing (Integrating each module), System testing (functional aspects) and User acceptance testing (meeting all requirements).

iv) Design:

The entire design of product as per requirements is done in this phase.

v) Development and testing:

This phase transforms design into realizable product.

vi) Deployment:

Deployment is nothing but launching first fully functional model of product. It includes some important tasks as follows-

  • Notification of product deployment: Launching ceremony details to stake holders and public.
  • Execution of training plan: Train the end user.
  • Product installation: Install product to ensure it is fully functional.
  • Product – Post implementation review: To determine success of product.

vii) Support:

Support means operation and maintenance of product in product environment. The activities are-

  • To set up a dedicated support wing
  • To identify bugs and areas of improvement.

viii) Upgrade:

It is necessary to upgrade the product already present in market. Upgrades deals with feature enhancement, bug fixes, etc.

ix) Retirement/ Disposal:

The product is declared as obsolete and is discontinued from market due to revolutionary technology changes.

written 11 months ago by gravatar for Hetal Gosavi Hetal Gosavi70
Please log in to add an answer.