Explain the various fiber channel ports with neat diagram.

This question appears in Mumbai University > Storage Network Management and Retrieval Subject

Marks: 5 Marks

Year: May 2015

  • Ports are the basic building blocks of an FC network. Ports on the switch can be one of the following types:

    1. N_port: An end point in the fabric. This port is also known as thenodeport. Typically, it is a host port (HBA) or a storage array port that is connected to a switch in a switched fabric.

    2. NL_port: A node port that supports the arbitrated loop topology. Thisport is also known as the node loop port.

    3. E_port: An FC port that forms the connection between two FC switches.This port is also known as the expansion port. The E_port on an FC switch connects to the E_port of another FC switch in the fabric through a link, which is called an Inter-Switch Link (ISL). ISLs are used to transfer host-to-storage data as well as the fabric management traffic from one switch to another. ISL is also one of the scaling mechanisms in SAN connectivity.

    4. F_port: A port on a switch that connects an N_port. It is also known as afabric port and cannot participate in FC-AL.

    5. FL_port: A fabric port that participates in FC-AL. This port is connectedto the NL_ports on an FC-AL loop. AFL_port also connects a loop to a switch in a switched fabric. As a result, all NL_ports in the loop can participate in FC-SW. This configuration is referred to as a public loop. In contrast, an arbitrated loop without any switches is referred to as a private loop. A private loop contains nodes with NL_ports, and does not contain FL_port.

    6. G_port: A generic port that can operate as an E_port or an F_port and determines its functionality automatically during initialization.

    enter image description here

Please log in to add an answer.

Continue reading

Find answer to specific questions by searching them here. It's the best way to discover useful content.

Find more