ITU frequency specification

What is ITU Specification

1 Answer

International Telecommunications Union has defined a system of terminology for electromagnetic frequencies used for radio and radar.

ITU divides the radio spectrum into 12 bands. Each band begins at a wavelength which is a power of ten (10n) metres, with corresponding frequency of 3×108−n hertz, and each covering a decade of frequency or wavelength. Each of the bands has a traditional name. For example, the term high frequency (HF) designates the wavelength range from 100 to 10 metres, corresponding to a frequency range of 3 MHz to 30 MHz. This is just a symbol and is not related to allocation, the ITU further divides each band into subbands allocated to different services. Above 300 GHz, the absorption of electromagnetic radiation by Earth's atmosphere is so great that the atmosphere is effectively opaque, until it becomes transparent again in the near-infrared and optical window frequency ranges.

ITU Bands And It's Frequency Ranges:

ITU band number Frequency range ITU Band
1 3-30 Hz ELF (Extremely Low Frequency)
2 30Hz to 300Hz SLF (Super Low Frequency)
3 300Hz to 3000Hz ULF (Ultra Low Frequency)
4 3kHz to 30kHz VLF (Very Low Frequency)
5 30-300 KHz LF (Low Frequency)
6 300KHz-3 MHz MF (Medium Frequency)
7 3-30 MHz HF (High Frequency
8 30-300 MHz VHF (Very High Frequency)
9 300 MHz -3 GHz UHF (Ultra High Frequency)
10 3-30 GHz SHF (Super High Frequency)
11 30-300 GHz EHF (Extremely High Frequency)
12 300–3,000 GHz THF (Tremendously high frequency)
Please log in to add an answer.