Define the nine focused areas to encourage R&D for the critical infrastructure sectors and also define five sciences and engineering and technology themes.
1 Answer


  • On the basis of the government’s identification of our nation’s critical infra- structure, the Executive Office of the President and the OSTP developed a research plan structured around nine science, engineering, and technology themes that would support the entire critical infrastructure sectors previously enumerated.

  • The nine focused areas to encourage R&D for the critical infrastructure sectors are as follows:

    • Detection and sensor systems

    • Protection and prevention

    • Entry and access portals

    • Insider threats

    • Analysis and decision support systems

    • Response, recovery and reconstitution

    • New and emerging threats and vulnerabilities

    • Advanced infrastructure architectures and systems design

    • Human and social issues

  • By mapping the long-term overarching goals to five sciences and engineering and technology themes, the following R&D priorities were created:

  • Improve sensor performance

    • Develop technology to detect unexploded ordinance.

    • Develop a real-time global positioning system synchronized for electrical grid monitoring.

    • Improve sensor arrays and improve explosive and radiological detection.

    • Improve sensors for detection of tampering with water systems and building, heating, ventilation and air-conditioning (HVAC) systems.

    • Improve SCADA security for water systems and HVAC systems.

  • Advance risk modeling, simulation, and analysis for decision support

    • Standardize vulnerability analysis and risk analysis of critical infrastructure sectors.

    • Conduct quantitative risk assessments to better quantify terror- ism risks to the critical infrastructure sectors.

  • Improve cybersecurity

    • Develop new methods for protection from automated detection of, response to, and recovery from attacks on critical information infrastructure systems.

    • Foster migration to a more secure Internet infrastructure.

  • Address the insider threat

    • Improve technologies such as intent determination and anoma- lous behavior monitoring for insider threat detection, covering physical and cyber infrastructure.
  • Improve large-scale situational awareness for critical infrastructure

    • Define the communication and computing system architecture needed to create a national common operating picture of the nation’s critical infrastructures.
Please log in to add an answer.